Assessment overview

At Merritts Brook teachers continually assess pupils to determine how they are progressing and identify their next steps in learning. We track pupils throughout the year to determine their attainment and their progress, and put measures in place to support those who are at risk of not meeting their targets.

Our assessment system is completely personalised to each child where every single skill within each subject is assessed – therefore empowering teachers, pupils and parents.

Tracking progress over time

We use the following codes to track pupils’ progress over time and against age-related expectations in each subject area. These will be the codes that are shared with parents during parent’s evenings and in the end of year report.

1 = Emerging

2 = Developing

3 = Secure, reflecting that age-related objectives have been achieved

4 = Above age related expectations, showing that age-related objectives have been achieved and the child is working at a deeper level of understanding and application

An example would be that a child in year 3 who has achieved all of the reading skills by the end of the year would be assessed as ‘year 3 secure’ in reading.

The Sheffield point scale is the system that will be used by teachers and leaders in school, as well as our E-act colleagues.  The expectation is that all children move on at least 6 tracking points within each school year.

More able children

Rather than moving a child onto the next year’s curriculum if they have met all of the skills within a subject, they will work on ‘mastering’ their knowledge through the application of skills in different contexts – they will be deepening their learning.

The depth and application of a child’s learning is an important marker of their achievement and progress.

KS1 & KS2

Children starting Year 2 and Year 6 in September 2015 and beyond will need to be prepared for the new style KS1 SATs in 2016.

In the summer term 2016, children at the end of Key Stage 1 will sit new SATs papers. That means that if your child is in Year 2, they will be among the first pupils to take the new test. SATs have been overhauled in both Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 to reflect the changes to the national curriculum, which was introduced from September 2014.

At the end of Year 2, children will take SATs in:

•          Reading

•          English grammar, punctuation and spelling

•          Maths

At the end of Year 6, children will sit tests in:

•          Reading

•          Maths

•          Spelling, punctuation and grammar

Instead of the old national curriculum levels, children will be given a standardised score which can be compared to the national standard expectation. You will be informed whether your child is in line with, above or below the national standard for their age group.

Writing in both KS1 and KS2  is a teacher assessment based on a child’s work throughout the year.

Early Years – Nursery & Reception

Children in Nursery and Reception will continue to be assessed against the Prime and Specific areas of Learning in the EYFS profile.

During the year children will be assessed as emerging, developing or secure in the relevant age bands. Assessments will be based on observation of daily activities and events. At the end of reception for each Early Learning Goal, teachers will judge whether a child is meeting the level of development expected at the end of the Reception year:

1 – Emerging, not yet reached the expected level of development

2 – Expected

3 – Exceeding, beyond the expected level of development for their age


View and download our latest newsletters

Click here
We recommend
Useful information